Starbucks Planner 2009: Selling Like Hotcakes!!!


starbucksStarbucks usually starts its promo sticker cards during November of every year. As part of the promo, you have to collect 16 stickers by purchasing a beverage and other products, and get a Starbucks planner for free upon the completion. I was not able to get the planner in 2008 because I gave my sticker card to Kat’s cousin. I have seen the Starbucks planner 2008 and I loved the design. I decided to collect stickers last November to get the Starbucks planner for 2009 because I know that Starbucks will be producing a well-designed planner again. I have completed my sticker card last year with the help of some friends and office mates. My office mate asked me a favor to buy a tumbler as an exchange gift for our Christmas party, so I went to Starbucks in Trinoma where I also saw the Starbucks planner for 2009 for the first time:

planner1

I didn’t like the design that much but it’s okay. I loved the idea of it having 3 colors: red, black blue. Starbucks planner for this year looks more simple and professional compared to the Starbucks planner in 2008 which is more artsy and stylish:

planner21

I completed my sticker card in Starbucks, SM Fairview last December 25, 2008. I rushed to Starbucks the next day only to find out that there’s no more planner left for me. Out-of-stock!!! So I tried other Starbucks branches: SM Megamall, Shangrila, Podium, Trinoma – still haven’t got one. Starbucks informed their customers that the next arrival of planners is January 16, 2009. Me and my family went to Robinson’s Manila last January 18, 2009, to eat and relax a bit. I passed by a Starbucks there to get my planner but it’s out-of-stock again!!! So the attendant told me that if I really want to get the planner, I should make a reservation and give my contact no. for them to inform me the availability of the planner. I was also able to get the free drink coupon on that day where you can get a free drink of any beverage of any size.

I received a text from Starbucks, Robinson’s Manila, last January 20, 2009:

“Dear Sir/Maam. Thank you for making this year’s planner promotion a success. Due to the overwhelming response, we have unexpectedly experienced a shortage of planners. We have placed another order to arrive by March 20. We apologize for the delay and as a token of our appreciation and your understanding, we will be including a Starbucks bag with your reserved planner. We sincerely apologize and thank you for your continued patronage and understanding. – Starbucks Robinson’s Place”

From January 16 to March 20?? I availed my free drink, Chocolate Cream Chip (Venti), that day.

FYI: I found out from the attendant that the kind of bag that Starbucks will be giving with the planner is a body bag.

Honestly, it’s okay with me to get the planner late and not use it since I’m enjoying using my Cosmo’s 2009 Date Book now, but for others…it’s not. What if they really want to use the planner but still haven’t got one up to now? This might irritate others because they will be using their Starbucks planner in March if they get one. =) Don’t worry guys, there’s another freebie included, be one of those who will be using the Starbucks body bag exclusively.

Share/Bookmark

Leave a Reply

